My Lighting Patterns in Portraiture

DSC_7421 image2

Split Lighting

The technique I had used for this photograph was split lighting. In this photograph I used a background light and a softbox to create this harsh contrast in the lighting. In this lighting I had to make sure that the side without the light on it still had a catch light in it but still get that dramatic lighting without losing all the details. I did bounce a little light on the right side of the face using the reflector but I was still able to have a split lighting on the face. In this photo I wish I would have had a more split light on the face, in this image there wasn’t really a defined line down the middle of the face its not as a high of a contrast that I wished it would have been, but its still pretty dramatic.

Leave a Reply

